The Delargey Awards 2024

The New Zealand Catholic Bishops Conference sponsors the Delargey Awards and are pleased to now be calling for nominations for 2024.

The Awards recognise significant and outstanding contributions made in the field of Catholic ministry with young people in Aotearoa New Zealand. They are named in honour of Cardinal Delargey (biography attached). The aims of the Awards are:
• To provide recognition for ministry workers and supporters of ministry with young people in New Zealand
• To educate the community about ministry with young people
• To raise the profile of Catholic ministry with young people in New Zealand
• To recognise the place of long-term involvement in Catholic ministry with young people

The Inaugural Award Ceremony took place in 2004 with Awards presented biannually subsequently.

The Nomination Process

To nominate a person for an NZCBC Delargey Award
1. Complete the nomination form online:
2. Ask a second person to write a letter of recommendation and provide a copy via email to

The nomination is not eligible without the additional letter of recommendation from a second person.
Nominations (with letters of recommendation) are due by close of day 15 May 2024.

• Full details here in PDF format.

Previous Delargey Award recipients with categories

2022: Janette Bradbrook and Mike Fidow, Christchurch, Catechesis category; Peter Fuga, Auckland, Advocacy, Catechesis, Community Life, Evangelisation, Leadership Development and Prayer and Worship categories; Michelle Schaare, New Plymouth, Advocacy;

2020: Antje Duda, Christchurch, Justice and Service; Susana Fiu-Fetalai, Auckland, Pastoral Care; Jennifer Martinez and Sam Mano, Auckland, Pastoral Care and Leadership Development; Dave Mullin, Palmerston North, Advocacy

2018: Delphina Soti, Auckland, Justice and Service; Pesamino Tili, Dunedin, Community Life

2014: Linda and Paul Darbyshire, Palmerston North, Pastoral Care; Norma Bellamy, Palmerston North, Pastoral Care.

2016: Anne and Andy Lovell, Wellington, Evangelization; Joanne Bell, Dunedin, Catechesis, Prayer and Worship; John Rogers, Wellington, Advocacy.

2012: Fr Mark Chamberlain, Dunedin, Community Life and Pastoral Care, Fr Frank Bird SM, Auckland, Leadership Development; Ron Allen, Palmerston North, Leadership Development and Community Life

2010: Br Doug Dawick FMS, Auckland, Pastoral Care; Tina Shore, Auckland, Pastoral Care; Michael O’Sullivan, Michael Buchanan, Kirsty Campbell, Palmerston North, Pastoral Care

2008: Kitty McKinley, Wellington, Justice and Service; Br John Paul Wilson FMS, Auckland, Evangelisation; Susie Jorgensen, Dunedin, Pastoral Care

2006: Mary Bennett, Palmerston North, Catechesis; Philippa Pidd, Wellington, Advocacy; Raylene Dwyer RSM, Christchurch, Leadership Development

2004: Gil Price, Auckland, Advocacy; Kevin and Helen Plant, Wellington, Leadership Development; Fr Peter Fahy, Palmerston North, Community Life

Each award indicates the component of ministry with young people in which the significant contribution is being recognised.

Go here to read a biography of Cardinal Delargey in PDF format.