Covid-19 Restrictions:
All the country is in Alert Level 1, meaning Mass can be celebrated normally. Please follow good hygiene practices including washing your hands; keep track of where you go by scanning the QR code; and stay at home if you feel unwell, getting a Covid-19 test if you're concerned you might have symptoms.

Read more

Candles in church ext2

Haere Mai, welcome!

To the Catholic Church in
Aotearoa New Zealand
O te Hāhi Katorika ki Aotearoa
CBC Youth festival gradient


If you, or someone you know has been abused by a Catholic priest or member of a religious congregation, we urge you to seek counselling and healing. Your call will be taken with sensitivity and confidentiality.

Read more

CBC hp sllider safeguarding

Our Story

Ko te waka o Petera ki Aotearoa
The canoe of Peter in Aotearoa New Zealand

Read more

Jerusalem Hiruharama 3

Youth and the Church

The world is in need of courageous young people, who are not cowed in the face of difficulties…

Read more

CBC hp sllider hongi youth
Among the baptised some are called to the ministerial priesthood as deacons, priests and bishops.

Read more

CBC slider Deacons Pat sized
We invite people
to enquire about
the Catholic Faith

Read more

CBC slider Br Guy teaching


The New Zealand Catholic Bishops Conference (NZCBC) is the national body for the bishops of Aotearoa New Zealand. The Conference has a Secretariat located in Wellington, and a number of agencies and offices to assist the bishops in carrying out national level functions.

In the Roman Catholic Church an Episcopal Conference, Conference of Bishops or National Conference of Bishops is a body of bishops generally defined by geographic borders. All the bishops in a given country belong to the same conference, which might also include neighbouring countries.

Cardinal John vaccinated by Pacific Navigator Nurse Alisa Kokea Logo 9 June2

Catholic vaccine campaign appeals to ethnic communities in the fight against Covid-19

A new Catholic Church campaign supporting the Covid-19 vaccine programme focusses on ethnic and religious communities that are fearful of getting vaccinated because of misinformation. Te Kupenga-Catholic Leadership Institute Chief Executive Dr Areti Metuamate says the Love your Neighbour as Yourself campaign aims to reach people in 10 ethnic communities...

Find us

Dioceses in New Zealand

There are six dioceses in New Zealand. The Archdiocese of Wellington is the metropolitan diocese in New Zealand, and the other dioceses, are suffragen dioceses. Click on the map above to find out more about each diocese.